Melbourne Tram MuseumAdd to Itinerary
Leonard Flannagan 1916
The Hawthorn Tram Depot was opened in 1916 by the Hawthorn Tramways Trust. It serviced a line from Princes Bridge in central Melbourne to the developing suburbs of Camberwell and Burwood, and a branch line from Hawthorn Bridge. It is an imposing building on a prominent site, designed by notable Melbourne architect Leonard Flannagan.
Visitors can engage with interactive tours hosted by our volunteers giving an informed history into our tram and transport past. There will be tours of our Archives and Plan rooms, exhibitions showcasing Melbourne’s art trams, Wattle Park, uniform and tram paraphernalia; children's activities, games and interactive education; Boroondara Arts and OHM community partnerships stalls; merchandise and food and drinks stalls.
There will be children's activities, games and interactive education.
Images: (1-3) Melbourne Tram Museum. Photo: courtesy of Alan Scott. (4) Melbourne Tram Museum. Photo: courtesy of Joseph Chow. (5) Melbourne Tram Museum. Photo: courtesy of Alan Scott. (6)Melbourne Tram Museum. Photo: courtesy of Shána De La Rue.
Time & Date
Saturday 29 + Sunday 30 July
Open access 11am-4pm
Tours running every half hour starting at 11.30am. Last tour departs 3.30pm
No bookings required
Fully wheelchair accessible, Accessible bathroom, Accessible parking nearby
8 Wallen Road, Hawthorn VIC 3122