Bluestone tunnel entry sits embedded into grassy blast mound.
Empty cavernous interior of magazine, buildings length divided by archways with a white ceiling and wooden floors.
Exterior of bluestone magazine surrounded by tall grassy blast mounds. People are exploring the outside of building at ground level. People are walking around on top of the mounds.

Jack's Magazine

William Wardell 1878


Jack’s Magazine, an intriguing former explosives store by the banks of the Maribyrnong River, opened in 1878 and has been locked up and unused since the 1990s. Built into an escarpment, and concealed behind a bluestone perimeter wall, it is largely hidden from view.

Jack’s Magazine is a significant heritage site on Crown land managed by Working Heritage. The Victorian Government has appointed Working Heritage to manage, conserve and revitalise the site. Jack's Magazine sits on Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung land.

What's On

Working Heritage will invite visitors behind the bluestone wall to experience the tunnels, tramways and towering earth mounds of this remarkable heritage place. Visitors will have the opportunity to see inside some of the site’s main buildings, including the cavernous space of the nineteenth-century gunpowder store.

A must for those intrigued by Melbourne’s hidden places and industrial past, this is a chance to get a taste of a place usually closed to the public. There will be an indoor artisan and flea market on the day and food trucks will be on hand to offer refreshments.

Images: (1) Jack's Magazine. Photo: John Gollings. (2) Jack's Magazine. Photo: John Gollings. (3) Jack's Magazine. Courtesy of Working Heritage.

Important Details

Time & Date

Saturday 29 July
Open access 10am-4pm

Jack's Magazine is a short walk from both Pipemakers Park car park or the Magazine Way car park.


Partially wheelchair accessible, Accessible bathroom


All Ages


Magazine Way, Maribyrnong

Stay in the loop