Talk and Tour: The See Yup Temple: It’s history and heritage
The See Yup Society of Melbourne, who built and own the See Yup Temple in Raglan Street, South Melbourne, was established in 1854 as a mutual self-help society to support those who came to Victoria from the See Yup area of Kwangtung province in Southern China. The Temple was built in 1856 and designed by architect George Wharton. The later addition of a hall, which stands to the east of the main Temple building was designed by architect Harold Desbrowe Annear and built in 1901. The See Yup Society and the Temple continue to be active today.
Join Dr Sophie Couchman for a talk on the history and heritage of the See Yup Society and Temple, followed by a tour of the Temple building and grounds. One of South Melbourne’s hidden gems, the Temple has been active since 1856 and is still in use today.
There are three guided tours in this program. Visit the council website for more information and up-to-date program details.
Images: (1) See Yup Temple, Raglan Street, South Melbourne, 1934. (2) See Yup Temple Hall, Raglan Street, South Melbourne, 1934. (3) See Yup Temple, 76 Raglan Street, South Melbourne, 1988. (4) “Ceremonies at the Chinese Joss-House, Emerald Hill”, 1875. (5) "Opening of the New Chinese Joss House, Emerald Hill", 2 September 1876. All photos: Courtesy PPCC.
Time & Date
Tour runs 1pm
Running for 90 minutes for a group of 20 people.
Visit the council website for up-to-date program details: https://www.portphillip.vic.gov.au/explore-the-city/history-and-heritage/clarendon-street-stories
Accessible parking nearby
76 Raglan St, South Melbourne 3205