Williamstown Town Hall Open Day
Plottel + Bennett 1919, Gibbs Finlay + Morsby 1926, Theo Kerlidis K20 Architecture 2016
As the largest building of its kind in Melbourne’s west, Williamstown Town Hall, built in 1927 by prolific architect Joseph Plottel, is an original example of an interwar municipal complex. It is an important part of Williamstown’s identity and was recently restored and upgraded.
Historically significant as the first municipal offices constructed by the City of Williamstown, the site demonstrates the growth and development of the city over a long period until its amalgamation with the City of Altona in 1994. It is an original example of an interwar municipal complex that includes both offices and a town hall and is an important work by architects who had an extensive career in Melbourne.
It comprises the front building, municipal offices and council chamber designed by Plottel + Bennett and constructed by RL Phillips in 1919, and the town hall ballroom and stage designed by Gibbs, Finlay + Morsby, constructed by Weavell + Keast in 1927.
The historic Town Hall will be open from 11am-2pm with self-guided tours available, and open access for those who wish to explore without curated content.
Images: (1) Williamstown Town Hall, internal staircase. Photo: Peter Bennetts.; (2) Williamstown Town Hall, forecourt. Photo: Peter Bennetts.; (3) Williamstown Town Hall, forecourt. Photo: Peter Bennetts.
Time & Date
Sunday 30 July
Open access 11am-2pm
Enter via library access adjacent to the Town Hall
Fully wheelchair accessible, Accessible bathroom, Accessible parking nearby, Elevator access
104 Ferguson Street, Williamstown VIC 3016