C Blunt Boat Builders site
Building Built 1913
The Blunt family business has been operating in the Williamstown area since the 1880s. The family began boat-building in Geelong in 1858. The business moved to Williamstown around 1880 and operated from a yard with shed, pier and slipway on the waterfront between Ann Street and Thompson Street. Many ‘finely built’ craft were constructed there, including 24 sailing vessels. In 1925 their lease was resumed by the government for land reclamation.
The current boat-yard site on Nelson Place was taken up in 1926. The site was used from 1858 till at least 1877 for steam sawmill operations, and from 1913 to 1926 by motor engineers.
The pressed steel fascia is one of the heritage-listed building's original features.
Experience 170 years of possibly Australia’s oldest boat building family still restoring and building timber vessels at our heritage-listed site on the waters of Hobsons Bay Williamstown.
Image: Blunts Boat Shed. Photo: courtesy of Hobsons Bay City Council.
Time & Date
Saturday 29 July
Open access 10am-4pm
Partially wheelchair accessible
150 Nelson Place, Williamstown 3016