St John's Anglican Church, Toorak
The foundation of St. John’s Toorak can be traced back to a meeting hosted by Mr. H. W. Dauglish in his Heyington Place home (now part of St Catherine’s School) in November 1859. It was resolved at this meeting to appoint trustees and commence subscriptions for the building of a church in Toorak. The newly appointed government architect, William Wardell, was contracted to build the new church on its present site in the early English Gothic style. In April 1860 the governor of the colony of Victoria, Sir Henry Barkly, laid the foundation stone and building commenced.
Visitors can wander at their leisure through the church and surrounding gardens. Guidebooks will be available in the foyer of the church.
Images: (1) St John's Toorak. Photo: Chris Ott. (2) St John's Toorak. Photo: The Revd Dr. Peter French.
Time & Date
Saturday 29 July + Sunday 30 July
Open access 2-5pm
Partially wheelchair accessible
86 Clendon Rd, Toorak VIC 3142