Como House and Garden
Architect: 1840s, 1855, 1870s Arthur Johnson
South | S01
The settlement of Melbourne was a village barely two years old when the site that is now Como was used as a cattle run in 1837. In 1847 Edward Eyre Williams, lawyer and later Judge of the first Supreme Court of Victoria, purchased the land extending from the Yarra River to Toorak Road. He had a four-roomed residence with a separate kitchen built and named it ‘Como’ after the Italian Lake Como where he had proposed to his wife Jessie. John Brown purchased Como in 1853 and employed William Sangster as his head gardener, who transformed the surrounding bushland into a picturesque garden. By 1864, the wealthy pastoralist Charles Armytage purchased Como as a townhouse for himself and his wife Caroline. The Armytages extended the house to reflect their social position and improve the space for social events, of which they had many. Charles died in 1876, leaving the property to Caroline, who took the family on a grand tour of Europe where she collected items for the house that still remain today. In 1959 Como and its contents was sold by Constance and Leila to the National Trust, preserving its legacy for future generations.
Como House will be open for self-guided viewing, with volunteers on hand throughout the property to answer questions. The grounds, National Trust gift shop and café will also be open for visitors.
Williams Rd & Lechlade Avenue, South Yarra 3141, South Yarra VIC