Architect: John James Clark 1872
City of Melbourne | C41
The Hellenic Museum, formerly the Royal Mint, was designed by architect, JJ Clark, and is one of the few examples of the Renaissance Revival style in Australia. The Melbourne Mint’s first coins were struck here in 1872. It continued to produce gold coins and bronze pennies until 1931 and later came to play a vital role in Australia’s adoption of decimal currency. In 1972, after the need for mass production of currency decreased, the Melbourne Mint officially closed. The heritage-listed building is actively conserved, and open to the public today as it has become home to the Hellenic Museum. Celebrating its 10th anniversary, the museum was founded to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultural and artistic heritage of ancient and contemporary Greece. On display is ‘Gods, Myths and Mortals’, a collection that spans 8,000 years of Greek civilization on loan from the Benaki Museum, Athens. Also on display is ‘ONEIROI’, a permanent installation by Australian artist Bill Henson, which incorporates priceless treasures from the Benaki collection to explore the impact of history, beauty, culture, and art. In the courtyard is the inaugural MPavilion, designed by award winning architect Sean Godsell to a dialogue between contemporary and conservative design.
The museum exhibition Hellenic Museum’s Gods, Myths & Mortals will be open for self-guided tours throughout. The museum will be open 10-4 but the tours will take place at 11 and 1 pm. Guided tours are limited, arrive early to get a spot.
280 William Street, Melbourne 3000, Melbourne VIC